Short and sweet in the midst of final papers.

considering this will be my last blog post posted in Tanzania, i thought this song was nice and relevant 🙂

So what has Kristin been up to this past week or so?  Well, last Monday through Thursday I attended lectures, went to political party offices, did some homework assignments, read half of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, finished Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and Love Does by Bob Goff, and fought off sickness. What can I say, I live on the edge.

Friday we packed up and headed out for a weekend trip to Bagamoyo.  Bagamoyo was a world center of slavery in the 1800-1900s, and we spent the weekend visiting historical sites with a dark history and taking long walks on the white sand beaches.  It was such a nice blessing to be able to get away and hang out with each other for the weekend, but it was also nice to go back “home” to Dar es Salaam.

Monday we spent the day at the University of Dar es Salaam to get a taste of Tanzanian student life, and then celebrated Jaclyn’s 21st birthday with some ice cream (see above comment about living on the edge). The rest of the weeks has been chalk full of lectures and papers, with a visit to a local movie production studio on Tuesday.

Our group is doing well, and while we are counting down the days until we go home, we’re enjoying these last ones we have. Part of me is excited to go home and see people, and I’m making to-do lists and an itinerary for what I want to do upon arrival when I should be listening to lectures, but the other half of me doesn’t even comprehend what it means to not live in Africa anymore. We’ve all begun to try and prepare ourselves for the inevitable culture-shock when we get home; I’ll let you know how I fare.

 I know that I will for sure post another blog post next week, if I survive the final exam and papers.  Thinking about where I’ll be a week from now, I’m realizing that this is actually the last blog post that will be posted from Tanzania. Whaaaaat? Mind blown. So hopefully the next post, written in the 25 hours it will take for me to travel from Tanzania back home will have more insights than this one. So until then, safari njema!

Leave a Reply

