Oriented in Arusha…Well, Sort of.

So, the above song has nothing to do with today, except the title- “Blisters and Coffee”. (Also that it’s rock, and my friend sent me a message saying she went to a rock concert back home yesterday and headbanged for me since I couldn’t be there.)

Why blisters and coffee? Well, today we all went on a walking tour of Arusha (many of us in brand-new shoes-breaking them in the hard way), and it wasn’t until we were on the way back that our group stopped at a restaurant and I finally got an iced coffee which was oh-so-good.

Image

my cup runneth [almost] over…

Image

the clocktower in the middle of Arusha

I’m getting ahead of myself though. I completely left out that 27 hours almost straight on a plane is the longest I’ve flown, and since about 9 of those were over Canada and Greenland, it feels like I just experienced a really long night. Or that we are being downright spoiled at Kandayo apartments, where we are staying. (We have a pomegranate tree in  the yard!)

Image

Yum.

This is to say, this adventure is starting out quite nicely. Classes start tomorrow for me. I have fairly regular access to wi-fi, so please feel free to e-mail me. Any questions or things you want to know or see a picture of? Leave a comment and let me know! 

2 thoughts on “Oriented in Arusha…Well, Sort of.

Leave a Reply

