ANNOUNCING… Kristin’s Biggest Trip Yet!

So, guess who forgot to write about the fact that she’s going to Africa? This girl!

Yep, I’m going to Tanzania, Africa in January, and I’ll be there for four crazy, adventure-packed, educational months. 

Image 

[Tanzania’s Flag]

For what I think might be the first time in my life, the anxiety I’m feeling about this trip is worth mentioning next to the excitement. I’ve been enrolled in both Swahili and a Tanzania Prep class all semester, and I feel confident with conquering the culture shock (yet again). But this time there are some key people and events happening back here when I’m away. Four months! Four months ago from today, I was still employed as a camp counselor.  *Insert exclamation of mixed emotions here*

That being said, preparations are revving up. I’m slowly checking off my pre-trip shopping list, tying up loose ends of various aspects of my life, and trying to wrap my mind around the best way to prepare myself for what I know is going to be a life-changing trip.

Image

[This is where I’ll be spending February – Zanzibar]

I think I’m going to make a list of personal goals, but very vague ones, because I know this trip is going to defy all my expectations. Do you have any suggestions on ways to prepare myself? Leave suggestions in the comments! There will be more on this trip to come…

Image

[Mt. Kilamanjaro, Tanzania- I’ll be around here in January and April]

 

Leave a Reply

